Do Not Read My Blog

I just spent the last hour of my life reading other people’s writing blogs about their work and what they hate to read and what to avoid when creating. Now I am paralyzed in fear. Great. While on the surface it seems like a good idea to gather all available information to learn and grow, it is really just setting yourself up for motivation loss. Now my poor notebook sits lonely, only a few hundred words written today. (Don’t worry, I will be continuing later today. Once I convince myself that I am learning and becoming stronger every day.) So to all those reading this, please do not take anything I say seriously. Your writing is amazing and awesome and beautiful because it shows a side of you that others may not get to see. Your creativity is refreshing and please keep going. We are all in this together.

So to all those reading this, please do not take anything I say seriously. I am not a real author and I am definitely not better than any of you.  Your writing is amazing and awesome and beautiful because it shows a side of you that others may not get to see. Your creativity is refreshing and please keep going. We are all in this together.

Ever notice how writers tend to be elitist? Especially after they get that first e-book self-published. “Three people have read my book now, that makes me an expert.” and “Oh you only write a few pages a day. Ha! You will never succeed unless you do this—and this—and this–.” Bleh. Those are the people I block from my twitter feed immediately. These people, while they may mean well (I’m sure some do), forget how it feels to be just starting out. (“Well I started writing when I was five, so…” Cool your jets, dude.) They make it seem like unless you have been working constantly for years, then you are already a failure and shouldn’t even risk putting pen to paper. “Oh, you work and don’t write all day? Hmmmm” These people love to pop up around Nanowrimo. “Those people are not real writers, they just do it for a month! They just write whatever they want with no regard to proper techniques.” Who cares? I am here to say that writing is for everyone, especially people like me who know they aren’t writing masterpieces, but are having fun. I love hearing people talk about their new projects. There is a special light in their eyes when they realize someone else cares. Don’t fall into the fear that you have to write perfectly. We are all here to support you.

I am here to say that writing is for everyone, especially people like me who know they aren’t writing masterpieces, but are having fun. I love hearing people talk about their new projects. There is a special light in their eyes when they realize someone else cares. Don’t fall into the fear that you have to write perfectly. We are all here to support you.

Reading writing tips just makes me nervous. That isn’t to say that they don’t help. But make sure to read the right blogs. Read tips that make you feel good about yourself and your writing. While it will still be painful to grow at times, and it won’t always be pretty, the goal is to keep writing. Don’t let others dictate how you feel about yourself.

If you actually read this and didn’t follow my advice, then that is great! I think. I mostly wrote it to convince myself. At least I get a kick out of seeing the views and what countries you are all from. I want to make sure that you know that the effort is what matters. Nothing feels better than completing a novel, even if no one will ever read it. And if your writing sucks, welcome to the club! I am always looking for critique partners that are at my level. Shoot me an email!

Do you enjoy reading writing tips? Ever deal with an elitist writer? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Do Not Read My Blog”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing, your words have given me the extra boost of confidence I needed today. I think many “professional” writers don’t understand that some people choose to write as a hobbyist, creating things for their own enjoyment with little or no intention to sell. I would love to be published some day, but whether or not you’re published should not detract from enjoying what you love.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

